Tuesday, April 13, 2010

ROUGHING THE HOLDER: Actually saw this called in the Rush-Gladiators game from Friday, and I can't decide if it's a legit rule or just something the official said instead of "unnecessary roughness." The Internet is providing me with ambiguous information--this NFL page mentions simulating roughing by the holder as a penalty, but not roughing the holder itself. It occurs to me that it is a pretty good rule, since a holder is in a vulnerable position like the other protected positions. Just surprised it doesn't get called more often--maybe you have to be taking a really weird dive for the ball to actually hit the holder.

No comments: